Celebration of Sport Winners 2020

Our recent Celebration of Sport was certainly a different occasion with a number of adjustments having to be made to reflect the Covid environment we are living in. Whilst the evening was a smaller affair, the opportunity to live stream the event followed by a Junior Sports Assembly enabled more people to be included in the celebration.

The students can be rightly proud of all their achievements taking place under such difficult circumstances.

The Premier Award winners on the night were as follows:

Student Coach of the Year – Tiana Edmonds & Hannah Malden (Joint Award)

Team of the Year – Newlands 1st XI Girls Football

AWD Athlete of the Year – Tiffany Natta

PE Department Trophy – Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Grace Fruean & Bayley Puha-Harris (Joint Award)

Hornal Trophy – Highest Achiever – Not awarded in 2020

Morris Barling Trophy – Sportsperson of the Year – Male – Aaron Fawkes & Dillan Thiagarajah (Joint Award)

Deb Mills Trophy – Sportsperson of the Year – Female – Ella Betty