Jane-Edna Bryce named in Wellington Pride Rugby team

Congratulations to Jane-Edna Bryce (Y13) who received a late 18th birthday present as she was named in the senior women’s Wellington rugby squad.
Below is the media release from Wellington Rugby:
Former Black Fern Jackie Patea-Fereti will lead the Wellington Pride into the Farah Palmer Cup after being named captain of the 2017 squad.
The Wainuiomata No.8 is one of two former Black Ferns in the Pride’s 30-strong squad along with Northern United lock Sanita Levave.

Wellington Pride coach Ross Bond said naming his final squad had been a challenging task.

“We started with an extended squad of 50 and the cool thing was that through our preseason they all hung in there and put real pressure on for places.

“I’m very happy with the final squad which has a mix of some exciting young players who are pushing through and some experienced hands led by Jackie.”

Among the young guns in the squad are St Mary’s College College students and outside backs Cheyne Copeland (Marist St Pats) and Dhys Faleafaga (Northern United).

There are eight members of the Victoria Tavern Trophy winning Oriental-Rongotai team and representatives from eight other Wellington clubs.

Bond said he expected to make full use of his 30-strong roster.

“We don’t have a development team, so it’s important that we keep a wider squad training together and preparing well through the season.”

The Pride’s season kicks off at midday on Saturday (September 2) against Hawke’s Bay at Jerry Collins Stadium in Porirua.

The 2017 Wellington Pride Squad for the Farah Palmer Cup is:

Oriental-Rongotai: Raylene Lolo,  Janet Taumoli, Alicia Print, Joanah Ngan-Woo,  Lilian Mapu,  Kauna Lopa, Ayesha Leti-l’iga, Reijeli Uluinayau.
Petone: Angel Uila, Petra Krikalova, Accacia Te Iwimate.
Poneke: Patricia Kalolo-Apolinario, Saua Ualesi.
Wainuiomata: Brooke Tauaneai, Kiri Mei, Jackie Patea-Fereti (c).
Old Boys University: Holly McDonald, Gina Williamson, Tawny Burgess.
Marist St Pats: Sinead To’oala-Ryder, Cheyne Copeland, Jane Bryce, Monica Tagoai, Tina Vauua-Hamlin.
Hutt Old Boys Marist: Rosie Stirling.
Paramata-Plimmerton: Tove Svanborg.
Northern United: Sanita Levave, Vaine Marsters, Dhys Faleafaga, Lekah Leti.